BOD Contacts

UNENE Voting Members

Bruce Power
 
Gary Newman
Chief Engineer, VP Engineering
Bruce Power
PO Box 3000
Tiverton, ON   N0G 2T0
Canada
Tel:  519-361-2673
Email: gary.newman@brucepower.com
 
Assistant: Leanne Cronshaw
Email: Leanne.Cronshaw@brucepower.com
 
Assistant: Leann Currie
Email: leann.currie@brucepower.com
CNL
 
Robert Holmes
Vice-President, Research and Development
Canadian Nuclear Laboratories
Chalk River,  ON   K0J 1J0 
Canada
 
Tel: 613-584-3311 
Email: robert.holmes@cnl.ca
 
Assistant: Breigeen Bigelow
Email: Breigeen.Bigelow@cnl.ca
 
McMaster University
 
John Preston
Dept. of Engineering Physics
1280 Main Street West
Hamilton, ON    L8S 4K1
Canada 
Tel: 905-525-9140  X27294
Email: prestonj@mcmaster.ca
 
Assistant:  Sarah Anstett
Email: anstets@mcmaster.ca 
OPG
 
Dean Townsend
Vice President – Engineering Strategy
Ontario Power Generation
889 Brock Rd,
Pickering, ON   L1W 3J2
Canada

 
Tel:  905-839-6746 extension 5555
Email:  dean.townsend@opg.com
 
Assistant: Joan Down, Executive Admin Ass't
Email:  joan.down@opg.com
Tel:  905-839-6746  X4293
 
Queen’s University
 
Amir Fam
Queen’s University
Faculty of Eng and Applied Science
Civil Engineering
Office: Ellis-244
Kingston, ON   K7L 3N6
Canada
 
Tel:  613-533-6352
Email:  amir.fam@queensu.ca
 

University of Toronto
 
Grant Allen
Chemical Engineering & Applied Chemistry
University of Toronto
35 St. George Street, Room: WB221
Toronto, ON, M5S 1A4
Canada
 
 
Tel: 416-978-8517
Email: dgrant.allen@utoronto.ca
 
Assistant: Mary Butera
Email: chair.chemeng@utoronto.ca
Tel: 416-978-3069

UOIT
 
Glenn Harvel
Associate Professor
University of Ontario Institute of Technology
Energy Systems and Nuclear Engineering Research Centre (ERC), Room 40322000 Simcoe Street North
Oshawa, ON    L1H 7K4  
Canada

 
 
Tel: 905.721.8668 ext. 5508
Email: glenn.harvel@uoit.ca
Image result for glenn harvel
University of Waterloo
 
Jatin Nathwani
Professor and Ontario Research Chair in Public Policy for Sustainable
Energy Management
University of Waterloo
Waterloo, ON    N2L 3G1
Canada
 
Tel: 519-888-4567  X 38252
Email: nathwani@uwaterloo.ca
 
Assistant: Iris Strickler
Email:  iwstrick@uwaterloo.ca
Tel: 519-888-4618

Western University
 
Andy Hrymak
Dean of Engineering
Western University
Spencer Engineering Building
London, ON   N6A 5B9
Canada
Tel: 519-661-2128
Email: hrymak@eng.uwo.ca
 
Assistant: Sue Chapman
Email: schapman@eng.uwo.ca
Tel: 519-661-2128

UNENE Non-Voting Members

Amec Foster Wheeler
 
John Mackinnon
Vice-President, Engineering
AMEC Foster Wheeler
700 University Avenue, 4th Floor
Toronto, ON    M5G 1X6
Canada
Tel: 416-592-4360
Email:  john.mackinnon@amecfw.com

Candu Energy Inc.
 
Dezi Yang
Senior Vice President Engineering
SNC-Lavalin
2285 Speakman Drive
Mississauga, ON  L5K 1B1
Canada
Tel: 905-823-9040
Email: dezi.yang@candu.com
 
Assistant: Elizabeth Jones
Phone: 905-823-9040 X 37309
Email: Elizabeth.Jones@candu.com

CANDU Owner’s Group
 
Fred Dermarkar
CANDU Owner's Group Inc.
655 Bay Street, 17th Floor
Toronto, ON    M5G 2K4
Canada
 
Tel: 416-595-1022
Fred.Dermarkar@candu.org
 
Assistant: Bernice Brooks 
Email: bernice.brooks@candu.org

CNSC
 
Daniel Tello
Senior Research Program Officer
Regulatory Research and Evaluation Division
Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission
280 Slater Street
P.O. Box 1046,  Station B
Ottawa, ON   K1P 5S9
Canada

 
Tel:  613-995-2609
Email:  daniel.tello@canada.ca
 
Assistant:  Anne Laplante
Planning Officer and Advisor/Strategic Planning Directorate
Tel: 613-947-0546

 

Ecole Polytechnique
 
Jean Koclas
Ecole Polytechnique
Local  B-258.16  
Département de génie physique
C.P. 6079, Succ. Centre-Ville
Montréal, Québec   H3C 3A7
Canada 
 
 
Tel: 514-340-4711  X 4263  
Fax: 514-340-3218  
Email  jean.koclas@polymtl.ca

 

University of Guelph
 
Richard Zytner
University of Guelph
Interim Dean
College of Physical & Engineering Science
University of Guelph
Guelph, ON    N1G 2W1
Canada
 
 
 
Tel: 519-824-4120  X 56430
Fax: 519-823-2808
 
Assistant: Esther Codner 
Email: codner@uoguelph.ca
 

Image result for Richard G. Zytner

Nuclear Waste Management Organization
 
Paul Gierszewski
Nuclear Waste Management Organization
22 St. Clair Avenue East
Sixth Floor
Toronto, ON    M4T 2S3
Canada
 
Tel: 416-934-9814
Email: pgierszewski@nwmo.ca
 

Royal Military College of Canada
 
Philip Bates
Royal Military College of Canada
Faculty of Engineering
PO Box 17000, Station Forces
Kingston, ON   K7K 7B4
Canada
Tel: 613-541-6000  X6371 / X 6609
Email: bates-p@rmc.ca
 
Assistant: Kathleen O’Grady
Tel: 613-541-6000  x 6361
Email: kathleen.ogrady@rmc.ca

University of New Brunswick
 
Derek Lister
University of New Brunswick
Department of Chemical Engineering
University of New Brunswick
P.O. Box 4400
Fredericton, N.B. E3B 5A3
Canada
          
 
 
Tel: 506-447-3299
Email: dlister@unb.ca
 

 

 

University of Saskatchewan
 
Chary Rangacharyulu
University of Saskatchewan
Professor and Head, Department of Physics and Engineering Physics
University of Saskatchewan
116 Science Place
Saskatoon, SK    S7N 5E2
Canada
 
Tel: 306-966-6412
Email: chary.r@usask.ca
 
Dept. Secretary: Marj Granrude

University of Windsor
 
Ram Balachandar
University of Windsor
254 Ouellette Avenue, Suite 301
Windsor, ON   N9B 3P4
Canada          
 
Phone:  519-256-3113  X 24
Email:  rambala@uwindsor.ca

 

UNENE Officers

Jerry Hopwood
 
UNENE President
McMaster University
UNENE Program
JHE-A315
1280 Main Street West
Hamilton, ON   L8S 4L7
Email: jerry.hopwood1@gmail.com
 
Assistant: Lori Cole
Email: unene@mcmaster.ca

Benjamin Rouben
 
UNENE Secretary/Treasurer
McMaster University
UNENE Program
JHE-A315
1280 Main Street West
Hamilton, ON   L8S 4L7
Email: benjamin.rouben@sympatico.ca
 
Assistant: Lori Cole
Email: unene@mcmaster.ca

Nik Popov
 
UNENE Program Director
McMaster University
UNENE Program
JHE-A315
1280 Main Street West
Hamilton, ON   L8S 4L7
Email: nik.popov@rogers.com
 
Assistant: Lori Cole
Email: unene@mcmaster.ca

Image result for nikola popov engineer

Others

EAC Education Advisory Committee Chair
 
Mahesh Pandey
University of Waterloo
Department of Civil and
Environmental Engineering
200 University Avenue West
Waterloo, ON    N2L 3G1
Canada
 
Tel: 519-888-4567  X 35858
Email: mdpandey@uwaterloo.ca

 

RAC Research Advisory Committee Chair
 
Steve Bushby
Canadian Nuclear Laboratories
Chalk River,  ON   K0J 1J0
Canada
Tel:  
Email:  sbushby@aecl.ca

SNC-Lavalin
 
Sermet Kuran (alternate)
SNC-Lavalin
2285 Speakman Drive
Mississauga, ON   L5K 1B1
Canada 
Tel: 905-823-9040
Email: sermet.kuran@candu.com

 

CANDU Owner’s Group
 
Mike Brett
CANDU Owner's Group Inc.
655 Bay Street, 17th Floor
Toronto, ON    M5G 2K4
Canada

Tel:  416-595-1888
Email:  mike.brett@candu.org

Michael Brett

CANDU Owner’s Group
 
John Sowagi
CANDU Owner's Group Inc.
655 Bay Street, 17th Floor
Toronto, ON    M5G 2K4
Canada
 
Tel:  (416) 595-1888  X 105
Cell: (647) 465-8789
Email: John.Sowagi@candu.org

U of Saskatchewan
 
Jerzy Szpunar
Mechanical Engineering
Engineering Building
57 Campus Drive
Saskatoon, SK   S7N 5A9
Canada
Tel:  306-966-5374
Email:  jerzy.szpunar@usask.ca

Queen’s University
 
Mark Daymond
Queen’s University
Dept. of Mechanical and Materials Engineering,
Nicol Hall, 60 Union Street,
Kingston, ON   K7L 3N6
Canada
        
Tel:  613-533-2193
Email:  mark.daymond@queensu.ca

University of Windsor
 
Mehrdad Saif
Dean of Engineering
University of Windsor
401 Sunset Avenue
Windsor, ON  N9B 3P4
Canada
 
Tel: 519-253-3000  X 2566
Email: msaif@uwindsor.ca
 
Assistant: Shelby Marchand
Email: shelby@uwindsor.ca